Just another WordPress.com site

When Trust looks a lot like Liberty (deciphering Kingdom vocabulary)

Freedom

Freedom: exhilarating, amazing, exciting renewing and transforming liberty.

Do you ever find your heart has been saturated with the world’s vocabulary? Where Love is romantic instead of perfect, hope is wishful instead of resilient, prayer is sympathetic instead of powerful and significance is achievement rather than living in the presence of God….

The one that I’ve taken along time to get hold of is the truth about trust…. Trust is not naivety it’s the key to liberty. Liberty is found in God’s perfect Love.

It’s such an easy thing to brush over, but when I really examine my heart lack of trust in God has been at the root of every decision I’ve ever got wrong.

My breakthrough came when I handed every last piece of my broken heart over to God, instead of just saying ‘I trust you God’ but letting the hurts from my past still define me, instead of holding fast to the thought that I knew what I needed and that certain things had to happen in my life to redress the pain before I could truly be restored, no, this time I ran towards God and for the first time in my life I really trusted that ‘Abba Father’ was gonna catch me.

For many of us ‘Father’ is another word messed up by the ‘world’s dictionary’. In my world vocabulary Father had never meant what God intended but I’ve discovered not one of us has to remain an orphan of Father Love.

I trusted that he could heal my heart…… and that’s when I found trust looks a lot like freedom.

I just love this verse in Isaiah:

‘The Spirit of the sovereign Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound.’ 61 v 1

Inspiring. I want that anointing. But how can I help release freedom unless I’m living in it?

The Hebrew word for liberty here is derovr meaning: freedom, spontaneity, out flow, pure, clear…. it makes me think of open heartedness.

Liberty, freedom; this is God’s Heart for us and what he wants us to release to others. ‘where the spirit of the Lord is there is liberty’ 2Cor 3 v 17

In this verse Isaiah says there is an ‘anointing’ for bringing freedom, anointings can only come in the presence of God.  Trusting his Love and pressing into his presence is the key to my freedom, spending time with God, asking for his vocabulary to define my life with.

‘Trust in the lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him and he will direct your path’

This doesn’t seem like naivety anymore because I know it’s Freedom.

I changed my dictionary and God transformed me. I believed that he really did love me despite everything. I trusted.

Delight your self in his presence (Psalm 37 v 4), seek first his Kingdom (Mat 6 v 33), trust your loving father God with all of the mess of your heart, don’t hold back and just see what happens next….

2 responses

  1. Beth

    Wow…brilliant! Having a new dictionary is definitely part of the package that comes with a renewed mind. I love freedom and I love the way you’ve described your journey into it. To trust like a kid trusts the best father of them all is truly the most freeing thing there is, haha! This is quality. Thank you for articulating so well the transition from captivity to liberty. It’s beautiful.

    January 16, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • Thank you B. Love ya.

      January 17, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

